Facebook TwittertagBoard

About Us / bowl history

BackBack to list
#13 Oregon State 27 vs #23 Texas 31
Longhorns Rally to Knock off #13 Beavers
Attendance: 65277
MVPs: Offensive: Marquise Goodwin, WR, Texas Defensive: Alex Okafor, DE, Texas
Awards: Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award: Storm Woods, RB, Oregon State
Coaches: Oregon State: Mike Riley; Texas: Mack Brown
Highlights: Game-winning TD pass from David Ash to Marquise Goodwin
TV Rating: 4.8
TV Coverage: ESPN HD

Date: Saturday December 29, 2012

Texas trailed Oregon State 27-17 before rallying back to win the game. Texas quarterback David Ash
threw a 15-yard touchdown pass to Johnathan Gray to cut the lead to three and later threw a 36-yard
TD pass Marquise Goodwin to give the Longhorns the win. Texas now has 28 comeback victories under
Mack Brown, including 17 fourth quarter comebacks. The six largest comebacks in Texas history have
been under Brown. Texas improved to 2-2 on the season in games when they trailed at halftime. The
overall Valero Alamo Bowl record for teams leading at halftime now stands at 15-3.

Texas receiver Marquise Goodwin’s 64-yard touchdown run in the second quarter was his second
rushing TD of 60 or more yards this season, as he had a 72-yard TD run against Mississippi. The run was
the longest surrendered by the Oregon State defense this season. The senior wide receiver also had the
winning touchdown with a 36-yard TD catch from Texas quarterback David Ash. Goodwin, who finished
10th in the long jump at the 2012 Summer Olympics, is one of only three Longhorns to have a rush and a
reception of 50 or more yards. The Valero Alamo Bowl was also his third consecutive game with a

Texas set a Valero Alamo Bowl record for sacks with ten against Oregon State. The previous record of
five is shared by four teams.

Texas defensive end Alex Okafor’s 4.5 sack performance set a Valero Alamo Bowl record. The senior pass
rusher also had nine tackles and a forced fumble in the win. The previous record was held by Purdue’s
Chike Okeafor, who had 3.5 sacks against Kansas State in the 1998 Alamo Bowl. Okafor’s 4.5 sacks tie
him for third most ever in an FBS bowl game. The record is 6 by Shay Muirbrook of BYU in the 1997
Cotton Bowl against Kansas State.

By defeating Oregon State 31-27 in the 2012 Valero Alamo Bowl, Texas improved to 31-7 in games
decided by four points or less in the Mack Brown era.

By holding Oregon State to 27 points in the 2012 Valero Alamo Bowl, Texas once again held an opponent
under the season scoring average. Oregon State entered the game averaging 33 points per game. Texas
has held 52 of its last 64 opponents under their season scoring average.

David Ash’s 241 passing yards in the 2012 Valero Alamo Bowl vaulted him into the Top 10 of Texas’
single season passing record book. Ash now ranks eighth in Texas single season passing yards with 3,778
yards this season.

By defeating Oregon State 31-27, Texas remained undefeated in the Valero Alamo Bowl. Texas defeated
Iowa 26-24 in the 2006 Valero Alamo Bowl. Texas also remained undefeated against Oregon State. The
Longhorns defeated the Beavers 35-0 in1980 and 61-16 in 1987. Texas now hold a 3-0 advantage in the
all-time series and has outscored the Beavers 127-43 in those games. The win improves Texas to 27-22-2
all-time in bowl games.

Texas once again won a game after winning the turnover battle. The Longhorns only turned the ball over
once in the game, while Oregon State had three turnovers. Texas is 90-5 under Brown when winning the
turnover battle and has plus-70 turnover margin during his tenure as head coach. The Longhorns scored
ten points off turnovers in the game.

The 2012 Valero Alamo Bowl marked the first time since 2007 that the bowl did not feature a 100-yard
pass receiver.

After tossing an interception in the third quarter, David Ash finished by going 9-of-10 passing for 146
yards and two touchdowns. Oregon State receivers Brandin Cooks or Markus Wheaton entered the
game with more 1,000 yards receiving this season but were maintained by the Texas defense. The first
catch for either came with 10:45 remaining in the second quarter. Wheaton finished with 26 yards
receiving, while Cooks finished with 15 yards.

Texas defeated Oregon State 31-27 despite racking up five less first downs than the Beavers. The
Longhorns tallied 16 first downs in the game and did not get their first first down until the 14:52 mark in
second quarter, on an offsides penalty against Oregon State on a fourth down punt attempt.

Oregon State defensive end Scott Crichton blocked a field goal in the first quarter, which was the first of
season for the Beavers. It was returned 37 total yards by two players, Feti Unga and Ryan Murphy.

The 2012 Valero Alamo Bowl was once again a back and forth, four quarter showdown, adding to the
bowl’s reputation for close games and exciting finishes. Texas trailed Oregon State 27-17 before rallying
back to win the game. Texas quarterback David Ash threw touchdown passes to Johnathan Gray and
Marquise Goodwin to give the Longhorns the win. Seven of the last eight Valero Alamo Bowls have been
decided by a touchdown or less.
- In the 2005 MasterCard Alamo Bowl, Michigan lateraled the ball eight times on the final play
and nearly found the end zone. Nebraska’s Titus Brothers did not give up on the play and sealed the 32-
28 victory as he pushed Michigan’s Tyler Eckler out of bounds.
- In 2006, Texas overcame a 14-0 deficit and held Iowa scoreless in its last two drives, including
once as time expired, to defeat the Hawkeyes 26-24.
- In 2007, Penn State overcame a two touchdown deficit to shut down a late Texas A&M drive on
the two yard line in its 24-17 win against the Aggies.
- In 2008, Missouri and Northwestern went to Overtime before deciding a winner. A short pass
from quarterback Chase Daniel to wide receiver Jeremy Maclin proved to be the difference in the Tigers’
30-23 win.
- The January 2010 edition of the Valero Alamo Bowl saw Texas Tech trailing 31-27 with eight
minutes remaining before Steven Sheffield led the Red Raiders to two late touchdowns and a 41-31
- In 2011, Baylor outlasted Washington 67-56 in the highest scoring regulation bowl game in
college football history. The two teams combined to set 15 Valero Alamo Bowl records. Baylor trailed
Washington 56-53 with 9:40 to go, but Terance Ganaway provided two of his five touchdown runs in the
final six minutes to help Baylor secure the win.