Facebook TwittertagBoard

About Us / bowl history

BackBack to list
Texas A&M 22 vs Michigan 20
Bryant Kicks #19 Texas A&M Past #14 Michigan
Attendance: 64597
MVPs: Kyle Bryant, Placekicker, Texas A&M (Offense) Keith Mitchell, Linebacker, Texas A&M (Defense)
Awards: Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award: Jarrett Irons, Linebacker, Michigan
Coaches: R.C. Slocum (Texas A&M) Lloyd Carr (Michigan)
Highlights: Kyle Bryant kicks a bowl record five field goals for the Aggies in front of the third highest audience in ESPN bowl history (behind the 1998 and 2000 Holiday Bowls).
TV Rating: 6.3
TV Coverage: ESPN

Date: Thursday, December 28, 1995

Box Score

The Third Annual Builders Square Alamo Bowl was a game dominated by field goals. Texas A&M`s Kyle Bryant, an unlikely hero prior to the game, kicked a record five field goals that gave the underdog and 19th-ranked Aggies a 22-20 victory over #14 Michigan.

Twelve individual and team bowl records were broken in 1995, including four of those records broken by Bryant. But there was more to this game than field goals. Texas A&M`s famous "Wrecking Crew" defense, ranked third in the country, stopped the explosive Michigan offense. Tim Biakabutuka, the Wolverines` star tailback and season MVP, was held to 94 yards on 24 carries while the Aggies sacked Michigan quarterback Brian Griese three times.

Although the Aggies All-America running back Leeland McElroy did not play in the game due to an ankle sprain, freshman running backs Eric Bernard, D`Andre Hardeman, and Sirr Parker combined for 147 yards rushing and one touchdown. The trio outshined Biakabutuka, who entered the game averaging 143 per game rushing. Biakabutuka's fumble in the first quarter opened the door for the Aggies only touchdown of the game as Bernard ran in from the 9 yard line to give Texas A&M a 7-0 lead.

The Wolverines tied the game at 7-7 when Griese, son of NFL legend Bob Griese, connected with Amani Toomer for a 41-yard touchdown pass. With 32 seconds remaining in the first quarter, Bryant kicked the first of his record five field goals, a 27-yarder, to give the Aggies a 10-7 lead.

Michigan came right back early in the second quarter when Remy Hamilton`s 28-yard field goal tied the game again. Just as time expired in the first half, Bryant connected on a 49-yard field goal to give Texas A&M a 13-10 halftime edge.

In the third quarter, Bryant kicked a 47-yarder to put the Aggies ahead 16-10. Michigan`s Hamilton came back with a 26-yard field goal of his own to cut the Aggies` lead to 16-13. Bryant kicked two more field goals in the fourth quarter.

The Aggies had a seemingly comfortable 22-13 lead with just 23 seconds left in the game, but Michigan would not go quietly. With just five seconds left in the game, Griese and Toomer hooked up again on a 44-yard TD pass to bring the game to a thrilling 22-20 finish.

Bryant`s record breaking performance in the 1995 Builder Square Alamo Bowl earned him Offensive MVP honors while A&M linebacker Keith Mitchell was awarded the Defensive MVP Award.

Michigan`s Jarrett Irons from The Woodlands, Texas, was awarded the Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award presented by Jacoby himself, the former Southwest Conference Commissioner who was instrumental in the creation of the Builders Square Alamo Bowl.

The Aggies` victory was especially sweet because it was A&M`s first post-season win since the 1990 Holiday Bowl. Head coach R.C. Slocum`s bowl record improved to 2-4 after losing three straight Cotton Bowls. A&M ended their season at an impressive 9-3, while Michigan`s season record dropped to 9-4.

The Third Annual Builders Square Alamo Bowl attracted the then-largest crowd in Alamo Bowl and Alamodome history as 64,597 were on hand. The sellout crowd broke the previous record of 63,285 in attendance for the Dallas Cowboys-Houston Oilers NFL preseason game on August 21, 1993.

The 1995 Builders Square Alamo Bowl was the most-watched bowl game in ESPN history and the top cable show in the United States for the week of December 25-31. The game reached over 4.25 million homes.

Texas A&M kicker Kyle Bryant won the Offensive MVP award with his record-breaking five field goal performance. Bryant also broke three other kicking records including longest field goal (49 yards), most field goals in a quarter and most field goals in a half. Aggie linebacker Keith Mitchell was the Defensive MVP and Michigan's Jarrett Irons was awarded the Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award.